Back Home.

“When you’re traveling, you are what you are right there and then. People don’t have your past to hold against you. No yesterdays on the road.” – William Least Heat Moon

To say I never wrote in Australia would be a lie, I wrote every day in a journal that I keep to myself. The reasoning behind that is because the thoughts were personal and the writing was extremely low quality, kind of like this. I can’t even fully understand why I woke up this morning and thought I’m finally going to update my blog. I predicted I would wake up hungover and demanding water and eggs, not the case.

Australia was a huge learning experience for me. I’m still learning from the experience little things come up in everyday life and I better know how to deal with that. I was also lucky enough to come back with more of a sense of self. Living and working with people who had no previous expectation of who I am allowed me to not think so much about who I was, and to let that self discovery happen naturally.

Being back is like, there’s not even a good simile for what it feels like to be back:

Looking for someone else to express my feelings I found this:

“I believe in exploration, and I will miss being on the front lines of that endeavor. On one hand, I look forward to going home, but it’s something that’s been a big part of my life, and I’m going to miss it. ”

Scott Kelly

This site also has a lot of great quotes, 55 to be exact, about travel: http://exploreforayear.com/inspiration/55-quotes-travel

The hardest part about being back is both the expectation of those around you and going back to routine. Well my family and friend are happy to see me back, and ask me: How was you trip? How are you doing? What do you miss? Are you happy to be back? The expected answers : Amazing <insert stories here>. Awesome, I’m really happy to be back. I miss the sun the beaches you know. Of course I’m happy to be home, I missed everyone. The actual answers: It was challenge in turn it was really rewarding, every aspect of my life had changed and everyday was a choice and something new and I had to be flexible and take a lot of shit, and learn; in moments I really didn’t want to learn. I got to play and change myself and see myself change over a period time without even always having a second thought. I’m surviving at best. I miss everything, from my friend there, my co workers, my job, my barramudi and fries with chicken salt, the sun, the guy I was seeing, the kids I worked with, everything. No I guess I’m not, I’ve been really struggling, well it’s been great to see everyone I’ve never felt so forced back into a box, back into a routine, back into expectations. I’ve made all this progress and it feels like it didn’t happen. Everything just wants to be the same, I have to force change that has already happened to come back and at every turn it hasn’t worked.

If anyone else has gotten back from a trip and would like to talk about it, there’s a comment section down below or my email is in my profile.

 

Meagan xx

Leave a Reply

